PC SOFT

FORUMS PROFESSIONNELS
WINDEVWEBDEV et WINDEV Mobile

Accueil → WINDEV 2024 → Webdev Globals
Webdev Globals
Débuté par Peter Hite, 27 mai 2016 20:44 - 6 réponses
Posté le 27 mai 2016 - 20:44
I am new to writing Web apps and am having a hard time getting my head around global variables. I would like to be able to use a couple of global variables to hold states, etc. But every time I submit something to the server (a page refresh, new page, etc.), the project initialization code reinitialized the globals. Is there anyway to set a global and keep it throughout a session, or do I just need to pass those values as parameters to all of my different pages? Thanks
Posté le 27 mai 2016 - 21:17
Hi Peter,

it depends of the type of pages you are using: classic, awp or php

Best regards
Posté le 27 mai 2016 - 21:31
Currently the project site is configured as Dynamic AWP. I have 5 globals defined in project server initialization. That initialization code seems to be recalled each time a page is refreshed,
Posté le 27 mai 2016 - 21:55
Hi

If you use dunamic webdev then your globals are useble the way you discribe. If you use AWP you have to pass the global to the page as a param.

In the calling of the page

pagedisplay( thepageyou call, paramglobal)

In the page that is called add a procedure

PROCEDURE mypage( var is string )

Then use var to get the value of you global

regards
Allard
Posté le 27 mai 2016 - 22:37
Hi,

Thank you Allard. I think I'll pass them as suggested. Hopefully I can use a composite variable to pass them all easily. I changed the project to Dynamic Webdev, put a break in the server init code, and it still calls the reinitialization of the globals. Don't know why - will try above and scratch my head another day on this one.
Posté le 28 mai 2016 - 10:31
Hi Peter,

You can declare an AWP context to store your global variables in AWP mode (server side if you want).
Check ConfigureAWPContext() and DeclareAWPContext() in the help for that.