PC SOFT

FORUMS PROFESSIONNELS
WINDEVWEBDEV et WINDEV Mobile

Accueil → WINDEV 2024 → Magic Programmer new to Windev.
Magic Programmer new to Windev.
Débuté par Steve Erts, 09 juin 2005 00:40 - 2 réponses
Posté le 09 juin 2005 - 00:40
Hi,
I know that some of you folks are also Magic programmers. I have been using Magic for 10 years and am evaluating Windev for a new project.
Runtime pricing aside, I am interested in any insights any of you might have regarding Magic vs. Windev.
Posté le 09 juin 2005 - 01:25
Hi,
I know that some of you folks are also Magic programmers. I have been using Magic for 10 years and am evaluating Windev for a new project.
Runtime pricing aside, I am interested in any insights any of you might have regarding Magic vs. Windev.

Hello Steve,
Though I am not an experienced WinDev developer and not an 'old' forum-member I say welcome to you in our (yes, also yours) forum.
I am an old (yes, realy too) Magician : almost 10 years I have developed with Magic starting with V5.61 DOS and SCO-UNIX (XENIX), all apps converted to V8.30 and now also 9.40 'on the shelf'. I had my first experience some years ago with the demo-version of V5.5, but that did not like me. Last year I start again with demo V7.5 and that was the reason why I have decided to change my development tool from Magic to WinDev.
Reasons :
1. Magic:runtimes WinDev:no runtimes
2. Magic: maintenance expensive WinDev: no maintenace, upgrades you can buy for a lower price (I can now buy each year 4 full WinDev competetive versions against Magic 1-year maintenance)
3. Magic: developing is not simple for a 3GL programmer, you had complete change the way of thinking WinDev: it's the old 3GL way on a new 5GL manner
4. Magic: most of the time third party tools needed WinDev: almost no third party tools needed, all included