PC SOFT

FORUMS PROFESSIONNELS
WINDEVWEBDEV et WINDEV Mobile

Accueil → WINDEV 2024 → Newbie questions HF C\S, Part III
Newbie questions HF C\S, Part III
Débuté par Wim Nihoul, 24 jan. 2006 14:04 - 20 réponses
Posté le 24 janvier 2006 - 14:04
Hello,
We too are experimenting with HF Client\Server. The problem is that we have (yet again) a drop in performance.
Since I've little experience with Client\Server in general, I would like to know if there was something wrong with the code. Most of our code to modify data looks something like this:
HreadSeekFirst(FileName,KeyName,Keyvalue,HwriteLock)
While not Hout(Filename)
//get some other data and do some stuff
Hmodify(FileName)
HreadNext(FileName,KeyName,HLockWrite)
End
Has anyone suggestions to do something like this in a more efficient way in a HF C\S environment?
Thanks
Wim
Posté le 24 janvier 2006 - 22:32
HreadSeekFirst(FileName,KeyName,Keyvalue,HwriteLock)
While not Hout(Filename)
//get some other data and do some stuff
Hmodify(FileName)
HreadNext(FileName,KeyName,HLockWrite)
End
Has anyone suggestions to do something like this in a more efficient way in a HF C\S environment?

Hello Wim,
This is the classic example that will not perform well under HF C/S. But the answer to your question lies in what "do some stuff" means.
A treatment on a number of records should fit into a query but this in not always possible for several reasons. The most important one: if your application is build on itegrity constraints, queries are often indadequate since HF queries do not respect integrity constraints.
If you can specify the stuff to do, somebody can probably give you an idea how it might be optimized under C/S.
Regards
Mat
Posté le 25 janvier 2006 - 06:55
G'day Wim
I have not used HF/CS yet so I am not in a position to try these suggestions.